Grant Recipients and Staff Award Winners Recognized at Lawrence Public Schools Board Meeting

September 24, 2018

Recipients of Lawrence Schools Foundation grant and staff awards in 2017-18 were recognized at the Lawrence Public Schools Board Meeting Monday night.

A number of different grants are available for teachers and principals each year, including Innovative Teaching Grants, Staff Development Grants and MusicWorks! Grants.  This past year the Foundation awarded more than $38,000 in grants to district teachers.

Staff awards include the $10,000 BOBS Award for Excellence in Teaching, as well as Dedication to Education and Educator of the Year awards.  Each year $18,600 is handed out to teachers who have gone above and beyond in educating their students.

2017-18 Grant Recipients

Carl Knox Staff Development – Ericka Waller, Free State; Shakiyya Bland, Lawrence High School; Sydney

                Ice, Quail Run Elementary

Hanzlik Hands On Academy – Joyce Bell, Cordley Elementary

Innovative Teaching Grants – Jessica Larsen and Jess Brown, Hillcrest Elementary; Alan Gleue and Andy

Bricker, Lawrence High School; Marissa Hegeman, Cordley and New York Elementaries; Lori Byers and Jennifer Scotten, Billy Mills Middle School; Elementary Gifted Facilitators, District wide; Johnny Paradise and Jeannie Merritt, Lawrence College and Career Center/Lawrence High School/Free State High School/Lawrence Virtual School

McCownGordon Teacher – April Hart, Emily Baker and Sara Bastemeyer, Sunflower Elementary

MusicWorks! – Megan Epperson, Broken Arrow Elementary; Sara Bonner, Deerfield Elementary

School Assistance – Brad Kempf and Carla Schmidt, West Middle School; Seventh-grade team, Southwest Middle School; Tammy Becker, Hillcrest Elementary; Jeff Harkin and Laura Leonard, Liberty Memorial Central Middle School; Keith Jones and Anita Carlson, Billy Mills Middle School; Chalita Middleton, Kennedy Elementary


2017-18 Staff Award Recipients

BOBS (Excellence in Teaching) – Michele Duncan, Sunset Hill Elementary

Golden Apple (Educators of the Year) – Beth Maloun, Broken Arrow Elementary; Michael Hymer, Lawrence High School

Sons and Daughters of Bobs (Dedication to Education) – Leah Henry, Juvenile Detention Center