Driver education prepares students for successful careers and a lifetime of informed choices to ensure personal safety to self and others on the road.
Driver education courses teach everything from the basics of traffic laws and traffic signs to defensive driving strategies. Endorsed driving instructors will teach the importance of safety in addition to modeling good driving etiquette and providing experienced instruction. Instructors reinforce best practices - such as distraction-free driving, no texting, mandatory seat belt laws, and defensive driving habits. Many professions involve driving a vehicle to/from work or on the job. It is the goal of driver education courses to put courteous, safety conscious and competent drivers behind the wheel.
Lawrence Public Schools offer a driver education course during the month of June.
Driver Education summer 2020
Driver Education summer 2020 is offered through USD 497 for interested students that are at least 14 years of age when class begins. The course is competency based. COMPLETION MEANS THAT A STUDENT HAS successfully passed 14 written tests and successfully passed required driving skills. Students will choose Session A, 7:00 am - 11:00 am or Session B, 11:30 am - 3:30 pm. If you have further questions, please contact Patty Buchholz @ 785-330-1700.
WHEN: May 28 – June 26, 2020 weekdays
WHERE: Lawrence Free State High School, 4700 Overland Drive, Lawrence, KS 66049
TIME: 7:00 am – 11:00 am (session A) or 11:30 am – 3:30 pm (session B)
IMPORTANT: Students may begin enrolling for Driver Education on February 17. In-district students begin the enrollment process by contacting Patty Buchholz via email at email@example.com or phone 785-330-1700 and letting her know which session they would like to enroll in. Enrollment will be final when a DE99 is completed on Saturday, April 25th at Lawrence Free State High School, 8:30 – 11:00 am. IF you are NOT able to be there on April 25, please email or call Patty Buchholz for an alternate date.
OUT OF DISTRICT STUDENTS – Contact Patty Buchholz for enrollment form
Class size is limited and is on a first-come, first-served basis
Students, please bring the following April 25:
- Eyeglasses or contacts, if they are prescribed
- Instruction Permit, if you have one. Instruction Permit is encouraged prior to enrollment as Kansas Graduated Driver License Requirements do require that an Instruction Permit is required and must have been held for at least 1 year prior to receiving a Restricted License at age 15 or 16. The 1-year period begins the date the Instruction Permit is issued.
ALL Driver Ed students will be required to take a handbook test before they can participate in the driving portion of the course. The handbook test will be a 20-25 question, fundamental introduction on knowledge of driving. Driver Education instructors will be available until 12:00 pm on April 25 to administer the handbook test to students who enroll. This will assist us with scheduling the driving portion of the course. Students must pass the handbook test by at least 80%. The Kansas Driving Handbook can be found at https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/dlhb.pdf.
Accommodations: Support is available for students who have IEPs. Please let us know when you enroll that support will be needed for the reading/writing portion of the class. Also, please inform your IEP case manager that you are planning to take Driver Education offered through USD 497.
Course fee information
- Course fee is $225. Payment may be made online via eFunds or the day the student completes his/her DE99. The eFunds program accepts electronic check and credit card payments. For information about eFunds, go to usd497.org/fees.
- Online payment, cash check or money order will be accepted as payment for Driver Education.
- Online payments will be accepted once fees have been added to the student’s PowerSchool account.
- Fees may also be paid when DE99 is completed on April 25
- USD 497 uses CCM Enterprises, a check recovery company, for insufficient checks. By law, CCM is able to electronically debit the check writer’s account for the amount of the check and a $30.00 processing fee.
- The course fee must be paid by June 5th, unless prior arrangements have been made.
- Students will be expected to attend class daily
- Bring pen/pencil & spiral notebook to class
- If the student will be participating in a morning camp; plan on afternoon enrollment for Driver Education
- If the student anticipates attending summer school; plan on afternoon enrollment and driving for the first two weeks – based on passing the handbook test at a minimum of 80%
- If you have an instruction permit bring it to class daily
- NO flip flops while driving
- Cell phone use will not be allowed during classroom time or during driving time