• Allen Press Distinguished Teaching Award
    The Lawrence Schools Foundation began managing the funds for the Allen Press Distinguished Teaching Award in 2008.  From 2008-2011, a teacher at both Lawrence High School and at Free State High School were selected for the award. Since 2012 only LHS teachers are eligible for the honor. Teachers are nominated by LHS honors students and finalists are presented at the school's Senior Recognition Ceremony each Spring. The students read their nomination and the recipient is announced at the event and presented a $500 check.
    Allen Press Teacher of the Year Matt Ellis Allen Press Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients
    (since the Foundation began managing the award in 2008)
    2008 - Stu Strecker, FSHS 
    2008 - Sue Donnelly, LHS
    2009 - Katrina Rothrock, FSHS
    2009 - Michael Carriger, LHS
    2010 - Alan Gyles, FSHS
    2010 - Michael Ortmann, LHS 
    2011 - Sam Rabiola, FSHS
    2011 - Pam Fangohr, LHS
    2012 - Valerie Schrag, LHS
    2013 - Tracy Murray, LHS
    2014 - Pam Fangohr, LHS
    2015 - Jo Huntsinger, LHS
    2016 - Michael Carriger, LHS
    2017 - Matt Ellis, LHS (pictured at right)
    2018 - Matt Stiles, LHS