Helping Your College Search

  • It's okay if you don't know exactly what you want to do, and where or even if you want to go to college. Your high school years are a good time to explore what colleges and careers are out there. Be sure to utilize all the tools that are available in your Xello account.  If you have a specific career that you are interested in, see if you can find someone in the community who will let you do a job shadow for a day. That is a great way to see if that career is a good fit for you.  

    If you are exploring colleges, try to find some time in the next year to do some campus visits.  If you're planning ahead, it would be great (not required) to have a list of colleges narrowed down by September of your senior year.  That way you can spend September and October filling out applications since some applications are due by October 31. 

    Not even sure where to begin with a college choice?  There are a couple of websites that can help narrow down your college search.  

    How to Choose A School - YouTube Video

    https://www.niche.com/

    https://www.princetonreview.com/college-search

    If you would like to speak to a FSHS staff member about their experiences with the college or program they attended, see the list below and feel free to email them or visit with them after school.  Please know that teachers will not likely know current specifics like acceptance rates, costs, etc.  That information can be found on college websites.  

     

    AmeriCorps 

    Marc Conover (Counselor) - Rm 105 (mconover@usd497.org)

    Liz Crickard (Psychology, Sociology, Social Work) - Rm 315 (ecrickar@usd497.org)

    Brianna Jackson (Counselor) - Rm 105B - (bjackson@usd497.org)

    Baker (KS) University

    Shelly Bennett (Nursing) - Rm 206 (shelly.bennett@usd497.org)

    Marc Conover (Education) - Rm 105 (mconover@usd497.org)

    Jeff Haas (Masters) - Rm 327 (jhaas@usd497.org)

    Mike Hill - (Athletics/teacher, Administrator Prep, History) - Rm 903 (mhill@usd497.org)

    Esther Romero (Spanish and English Education) - Rm 407 (eromero@usd497.org)

    Cloud County Community College

    Nolan Deitrich (Biology, Health and Human Performance, Special Education) - Rm 506 (jdeitric@usd497.org)

    Crowder College (JUCO, Neosho, MO)

    Alyssa Barratt (Math) - Rm 401 (alyssa.barratt@usd497.org)

    Emporia State University

    Joshua East (Music and Education) - Rm 605 (joshua.east@usd497.org)

    Olivia Henning (Music and Education) - Rm 605 (olivia.henning@usd497.org)

    Mike Hill - (Athletics/teacher, Administrator Prep, History) - Rm 903 (mhill@usd497.org)

    Amy McAnarney (Education, time management in college) - Main Office (amcanarn@usd497.org)

    Anita Nelson (Psychology, Education, Special Education) - Rm 315A (anelson@usd497.org)

    Kelly Thompson (Communications) - Rm 312 (kelly.thompson@usd497.org)

    First Generation College Student

    Brianna Jackson - Counselor - Rm 105B - (bjackson@usd497.org)

    Fort Hays State

    Gabriel Dalton (Biology, Zoology, Pre-med) - Rm 208 (gabriel.dalton@usd497.org)

    Nolan Deitrich (Biology, Health and Human Performance, Special Education) - Rm 506 (jdeitric@usd497.org)

    Cheynne Hansen-Marlow (Education, Psychology, School Psychology) - Rm 101D (cheyenne.hansenmarlow@usd497.org)

    Hope College (Holland, MI)

    Meg Lyles (Social Work) - Rm 416D (mlyles@usd497.org)

    Hutchinson Community College 

    Cheynne Hansen-Marlow (Education, Psychology, School Psychology) - Rm 101D (cheyenne.hansenmarlow@usd497.org)

    Johnson County Community College

    Rachel Downs-Doubrava (freelance art, design, construction)- Rm 413 (rdowns@usd497.org)

    Jeff Haas (Liberal Arts, Education, Political Science) - Rm 327 (jhaas@usd497.org)

    Stephanie Harris (Education) - Rm 530 (harriss@usd497.org)

    Nicole Koroma (Social Work) - Rm 416A (nkoroma@usd497.org)

    Kansas City Art Institute

    Rachel Downs-Doubrava (freelance art, design, construction)- Rm 213 (rdowns@usd497.org)

    Kansas State University

    Mattithyah Bergersen (Chemistry, Physics, Education, Honors Program, Student Research, On Campus Tutoring, On Campus Jobs) - Rm 422 (mbergers@usd497.org)

    Rachel Downs-Doubrava (freelance art, design, construction)- Rm 213 (rdowns@usd497.org)

    Jordan Erwin (Mathematics, Education) - Rm 518 (jordan.erwin@usd497.org)

    Brianna Jackson (Counselor) - Rm 105B - (bjackson@usd497.org)

    Matt Renk (Education, Business, Greek Life, Jobs in Manhattan, Living in Manhattan) - Office (matthew.renk@usd497.org)

    Beth Shirley (Architecture, Anthropology, Archeology) - Rm 325 (eshirley@usd497.org)

    Louisiana State University

    Annette McDonald (Mathematics Education, Swimming CPR) - Rm 526 (amcdonal@usd497.org)

    Mid America Nazarene

    Dr. Amanda Faunce (Social Studies Education, Education Leadership) - Main Office (Amanda.Faunce@usd497.org)

    Missouri Southern State University

    Alyssa Barratt (Math) - Rm 401 (alyssa.barratt@usd497.org)

    Missouri Western State University (MWSU)

    Sarah Podrasky (Graphic Design, Photography, Art) - Rm 207 (spdrask@usd497.org)

    New Mexico State University

    Rachel Downs-Doubrava (freelance art, design, construction)- Rm 213 (rdowns@usd497.org)

    Pittsburgh (KS) State University

    Nolan Deitrich (Biology, Health and Human Performance, Special Education) - Rm 506 (jdeitric@usd497.org)

    Judy Erpelding (Music) - Rm 606 (jerpeldi@usd497.org)

    Anita Nelson (Psychology, Education, Special Education) - Rm 315A (anelson@usd497.org)

    Beth Shirley (Special Education) - Rm 325 (eshirley@usd497.org)

    Pratt (KS) Community College

    Stephanie Harris (Education) - Rm 530 (harriss@usd497.org)

    Quincy (IL) University 

    Marc Conover - Rm 105 (mconover@usd497.org)

    Southwestern College (Winfield, KS)

    Liz Crickard (Psychology, Sociology, Social Work) - Rm 315 (ecrickar@usd497.org)

    St. Olaf College

    Wendy Haas (Biology, Allied Health, Biotechnology, Pre-Med) - Rm 426 (whaas@usd497.org)

    Study Abroad Opportunities

    Amanda Frederick (KU Study Abroad, KU British Summer Insititute) - Rm 311 (AFrederi@usd497.org)

    Karen Gipson (Study Abroad in Austria and Quebec) - Rm 413 (kgipson@usd497.org)

    Cheynne Hansen-Marlow (Education, Psychology, School Psychology) - Rm 101D (cheyenne.hansenmarlow@usd497.org)

    Amanda Williams (Marketing, Spanish, Romance Languages and Literature, Study Abroad) - Rm 411 (aswillia@usd497.org)

    University of Illinois - Chicago

    Meg Lyles (Social Work) - Rm 416D (mlyles@usd497.org)

    University of Kansas

    Sara Abeita (Biology, Scholarship Halls) - Rm 527 (Sara.abeita@usd497.org)

    Alyssa Barratt (Math) - Rm 401 (alyssa.barratt@usd497.org)

    Ray Bennett (Social Work, Film and Media Studies, American Studies) - Rm 416B (Ray.bennett@usd497.org)

    Marc Conover  (Business, Counseling Psychology) - Rm 105 (mconover@usd497.org)

    Liz Crickard (Psychology, Sociology, Social Work) - Rm 315 (ecrickar@usd497.org)

    Gabriel Dalton (Biology, Zoology, Pre-med) - Rm 208 (gabriel.dalton@usd497.org)

    Rachel Downs-Doubrava (freelance art, design, construction)- Rm 213 (rdowns@usd497.org)

    Amanda Frederick (Secondary English Education) - Rm 311 (AFrederi@usd497.org)

    Cheynne Hansen-Marlow (Education, Psychology, School Psychology) - Rm 101D (cheyenne.hansenmarlow@usd497.org)

    Jeff Haas (Liberal Arts, Education, Political Science) - Rm 327 (jhaas@usd497.org)

    Wendy Haas (Biology, Allied Health, Biotechnology, Pre-Med) - Rm 426 (whaas@usd497.org)

    Stephanie Harris (Education) - Rm 530 (harriss@usd497.org)

    Shane Henry - Rm 308 (shenry@usd497.org)

    Mike Hill - (Athletics/teacher, Administrator Prep, History) - Rm 903 (mhill@usd497.org)

    Kylee Johnston - (English, Honors Program, Scholarship Halls) - Rm 401 (kylee.johnston@usd497.org)

    Nicole Koroma - (Social Work) - Rm 416A (nkoroma@usd497.org)

    Annette McDonald (Mathematics Education, Swimming CPR) - Rm 526 (amcdonal@usd497.org)

    Shelby Miller (Graphic Design) - Rm 201(shelby.miller@usd497.org)

    Sarah Podrasky (Graphic Design, Photography, Visual Art) - Rm 207 (spdrask@usd497.org)

    Esther Romero (Spanish and English Education) - Rm 407 (eromero@usd497.org)

    Jordan Rose (Science and Education) - Rm 429 (jrose@usd497.org)

    Beth Shirley - Rm 325 (eshirley@usd497.org)

    University of Missouri - Columbia 

    Amanda Williams (Marketing, Spanish, Romance Languages and Literature, Study Abroad) - Rm 411 (aswillia@usd497.org)

    University of Missouri KC (UMKC)

    Wendy Haas (School of Medicine) - Rm 426 (whaas@usd497.org)

    Amanda Williams (Marketing, Spanish, Romance Languages and Literature, Study Abroad) - Rm 411 (aswillia@usd497.org)

    University of St. Mary

    Shelby Miller (Education) - Rm 201(shelby.miller@usd497.org)

    Washburn University

    Nolan Deitrich (Biology, Health and Human Performance, Special Education) - Rm 506 (jdeitric@usd497.org)

    Rachel Downs-Doubrava (freelance art, design, construction)- Rm 213 (rdowns@usd497.org)

    Karen Gipson (Music, World Language) - Room 413 (kgipson@usd497.org)

    Brianna Jackson (Counselor) - Rm 105B (bjackson@usd497.org)

    Witchita State University

    Liz Crickard (Psychology, Sociology, Social Work) - Rm 315 (ecrickar@usd497.org)

    Rachel Downs-Doubrava (freelance art, design, construction)- Rm 213 (rdowns@usd497.org)