Lawrence Public Schools

USD 497

Lawrence Board of Education

The community elects seven citizens from the Lawrence school district to serve as at-large members of the board of education. Each board member serves a four-year term without salary. (Due to a resignation during the 2014-15 school year, one board member will serve a two-year term starting July 1, 2015.) The board's duties include setting educational policy, approving the district's budget and hiring and evaluating the superintendent.

The board meets twice monthly, generally on the second and fourth Mondays of the month. These public meetings begin at 7 p.m. at the district's Educational Support and Distribution Center, 110 McDonald Drive. Board meetings are televised LIVE on LPS TV 26 (available on WOW! with a cable box), with replays at 6 p.m. on Wednesdays. Patrons may watch a live stream of board meetings or view meeting videos in the online archive.

The school board appreciates patrons taking time to talk to the board about its policies and procedures. The board sets aside Audience Participation time during every meeting to hear from the public. This is the public's time to share opinions, but the board asks that patrons please avoid making comments of a personal nature about any district employee or student, including the use of personal names. The board also requests that patrons remain civil when speaking and/or listening.

While patrons are not required to share their contact information, the board asks that they complete a sign-in sheet in some manner (initials, random numbers or letters, etc.) in order to be recognized. A patron's contact information, however, is helpful in order to follow up with any specific concerns shared. In such cases, a board member, the superintendent, or another staff member may be in touch with the patron to refer concerns to the appropriate administrator for investigation. At that time, the board encourages patrons to share as many details relative to the specific concerns as possible. 

If several patrons have the same comments to make, the board asks that they appoint one individual to state the group's collective comments. 

The board also asks that patrons limit comments to five minutes. 

Thank you for sharing their thoughts about district policies and procedures with the board.


Marcel Harmon, President

Shannon Kimball, Vice President
Jessica Beeson
Jill Fincher
Rick Ingram

Melissa Johnson
Vanessa Sanburn
You may email the entire board at schoolboard@usd497.orgWritten correspondence may be sent to board members in care of the Board Clerk at USD 497, 110 McDonald Drive, Lawrence, KS 66044.